Long-term Follow-up of Patients With Spinal Muscular Atrophy Treated With OAV101 in Clinical Trials

PHASE3ACTIVE_NOT_RECRUITING

This is a global, prospective, multi-center study that is designed to assess the long-term safety and efficacy of OAV101 in patients who participated in an OAV101 clinical trial. The assessments of safety and efficacy in Study COAV101A12308 will continue for 5 years after enrollment in this study.

Study details:

The study is comprised of a Baseline Visit and 2 Follow-up Periods. For Follow-up Periods 1 and 2, which includes Baseline through Year 5 visits, assessments will be performed at the Investigational site. For the first 2 years (Follow-up Period 1), visits will occur every 6 months.

For Years 3 to 5 (Follow-up Period 2) follow-up visits will be conducted annually. All patients will enter the study at the baseline visit and continue for 5 years.

Eligibility criteria

Researchers look for people who fit a certain description, called eligibility criteria. See if you qualify.

Inclusion criteria

  1. Participated in an OAV101 clinical trial.
  2. Written informed consent must be obtained before any assessment is performed.
  3. Patient/Parent/legal guardian willing and able to comply with study procedures.

Eligibility

Age eligible for study : NA

Healthy volunteers accepted : No

Gender eligible for study: ALL

Things to know

Study dates

Study start:

Primary completion:

Study completion finish:

study type

Study type

TREATMENT

phase

Phase

    PHASE3

trial

Study ID

NCT05335876

Intervention or treatment

BIOLOGICAL: onasemnogene abeparvovec

Conditions

  • Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA)
  • Condition: Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA)

  • BIOLOGICAL: onasemnogene abeparvovec

  • Randwick, New South Wales, Australia

  • Sponsor: Novartis Pharmaceuticals

You may be eligible to participate in this trial based on your search. Check eligibility by answering some questions.

Are you running this trial?

If you're a clinic or sponsor, you can claim this study

Research sites nearby

Closest Location:

Novartis Investigative Site

Select from list below to view details:

  • Novartis Investigative Site

    Randwick, New South Wales, Australia

Loading map...

Who is running the clinical trial?

NP

Novartis Pharmaceuticals

Study Plan

This section provides details of the study plan, including how the study is designed and what the study is measuring.

How is the study designed?

Participant Group/ArmIntervention/Treatment
EXPERIMENTAL: Intravenous (IV) & Intrathecal (IT) Onasemnogene Abeparvovec
  • Patients who received OAV101 IT or OAV101 IV in clinical trials (COAV101A12306, COAV101B12301 and COAV101B12302)
Biological: onasemnogene abeparvovec

    What is the study measuring?

    Primary Outcome

    MeasureDescriptionTime Frame
    Number of participants with treatment-emergent serious adverse events (SAEs)An SAE is defined as any adverse event \[appearance of (or worsening of any pre-existing)\] undesirable sign(s), symptom(s), or medical conditions(s) which meets any one of the following criteria: * fatal * life-threatening * results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity * constitutes a congenital anomaly/birth defect, fetal death or congenital abnormality or birth defect * requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, unless hospitalization is for routine treatment or monitoring of the studied indication, not associated with any deterioration in condition * is medically significant, e.g. defined as an event that jeopardizes the participant or may require medical or surgical intervention to prevent one of the outcomes listed aboveUp to Year 5
    Number of participants with treatment emergent Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI)The following are important identified and important potential risks (AESI) associated with OAV101: Hepatotoxicity, Transient Thrombocytopenia, Cardiac adverse events, Sensory abnormalities suggestive of ganglionopathy, and Thrombotic microangiopathy. These will be assessed by the investigator.Up to Year 5

    Secondary Outcome

    MeasureDescriptionTime Frame
    The number of participants demonstrating each developmental milestone according to the Developmental Milestone ChecklistThe Developmental Milestone Checklist is a sponsor created list of items using relevant definitions obtained from World Health Organization Multicentre Growth Reference Study (WHO-MGRS). These will be assessed via the milestone checklist, formed of 6 yes/no questions. The developmental milestones are: sitting with support, hands-and-knees crawling, standing with assistance, walking with assistance, standing alone and walking alone. A yes response indicates that the patient reached a particular development milestone.Up to Year 5
    The number of participants demonstrating maintenance of each developmental milestone according to the Developmental Milestone ChecklistThe Developmental Milestone Checklist is a sponsor created list of items using relevant definitions obtained from World Health Organization Multicentre Growth Reference Study (WHO-MGRS). These will be assessed via the milestone checklist, formed of 6 yes/no questions. The developmental milestones are: sitting with support, hands-and-knees crawling, standing with assistance, walking with assistance, standing alone and walking alone. A yes response indicates that the patient reached a particular development milestone.Up to Year 5
    Change from Baseline in the Hammersmith Functional Motor Scale - Expanded (HFMSE) total scoreThe HFMSE is a validated SMA specific assessment devised for use in children with SMA to give objective information on motor ability and clinical progression. The HFMSE contains 33 items rated from 0 (unable to perform) to 2 (performs without modification/adaptation/compensation). Total scores range from 0-66. Higher scores indicate higher levels of motor ability.Up to Year 5
    Change from Baseline in the Revised Upper Limb Module (RULM) total scoreThe RULM is a validated SMA specific assessment of motor performance in the upper limbs from childhood through adulthood in ambulatory and non-ambulatory individuals with SMA. The scale consists of 19 scorable items: 18 items scored on 0 (unable) to 2 (full achievement) scale, and one item that is scored from 0 (unable) to 1 (able). Total scores range from 0-37 points. Higher scores reflect higher level of motor ability.Up to Year 5
    Systolic and diastolic blood pressure (mmHg)Not SpecifiedUp to Year 5
    Number of patients with potentialy clinically significant vital sign findings - Respiratory Rate (breaths/min)Not SpecifiedUp to Year 5
    Number of patients with potentialy clinically significant vital sign findings -Pulse Rate (beats/min)Not SpecifiedUp to Year 5
    Number of patients with potentialy clinically significant vital sign findings -Temperature (Degrees Celsius)Not SpecifiedUp to Year 5
    Number of patients with potentialy clinically significant vital sign findings -Oxygen saturation level (%).Oxygen saturation is the fraction of oxygen-saturated hemoglobin relative to total hemoglobin (unsaturated+saturated) in the blood and then multiplied by 100.Up to Year 5
    Are you running this trial?If you're a clinic or sponsor, you can claim this study.

    References

    Clinical Trials Gov: Long-term Follow-up of Patients With Spinal Muscular Atrophy Treated With OAV101 in Clinical Trials

    Other trials to consider

    Loading suggested trials...

    Top searched conditions