A Study to Investigate the Safety and Effectiveness of a Coagulation Factor IX Gene Insertion Therapy (REGV131-LNP1265) in Pediatric, Adolescent and Adult Participants With Hemophilia B
Participants in this study have a genetic mutation, specifically in the coagulation (blood clotting) Factor 9 gene that causes severe or moderately severe hemophilia B. This study is researching an experimental gene insertion therapy (the adding of a gene into your DNA) called REGV131-LNP1265, also called the "study drug". Gene insertion therapy aims to teach the body how to produce clotting factor long-term, without the need for factor replacement therapy.
The main aim of this study is to find a safe and well-tolerated dose of the study drug by checking the side effects that may happen from taking it. The study is looking at several other research questions including: * How much study drug is in the blood at different times * Whether the body makes antibodies against parts of the study drug, which could make the drug less effective or could lead to side effects. Antibodies are proteins produced by the body's immune system in response to a foreign substance * Whether the body makes antibodies against the clotting factor replacement therapy * How quality of life is affected by hemophilia B and if it changes after taking study drug * How joint health is affected by hemophilia B and if it changes after taking study drug * How often visits are required for the emergency room, urgent care center, physician's office, hospital, telephone or online are required as a result of bleeding events, and if the frequency changes after taking study drug * How often factor replacement therapy is needed, both on a regular basis for prevention of bleeding, and as needed to treat bleeding events (and it if changes after taking study drug) * Whether there is a difference in 2 different methods for measuring Factor 9 activity in the blood.
Study details:
The study will be conducted with a 2-part adaptive design, with enrollment of patients into sequential parts of the study. Part 1: Dose Escalation and Dose Confirmation in adult patients ≥18 years of age. * Dose Escalation Cohorts to determine the recommended dose for expansion (RDE) of REGV131-LNP1265.
* Dose Confirmation Cohort to gain further confidence in safety, tolerability, and Coagulation Factor IX (FIX) functional activity data at the RDE. Part 2: Dose Expansion at the RDE. * Part 2A: Adult patients ≥18 years of age: RDE of REGV131-LNP1265, as determined in Part 1.
* Part 2B: Adolescent patients \<18 and ≥12 years of age will be administered weight-adjusted RDE. * Part 2C: Adolescent and Pediatric patients ≥2 to \<12 years may be enrolled in an age staggered sequential manner; first participants aged ≥6 to \<12 years and then participants ≥2 to \<6 years of age and will receive a weight-adjusted RDE.
Eligibility criteria
Researchers look for people who fit a certain description, called eligibility criteria. See if you qualify.
Inclusion criteria
- Confirmed diagnosis of severe or moderately severe hemophilia B with medical history of FIX functional activity (≤2% or <0.02 IU/mL) or documented genotype known to produce severe hemophilia B
- Currently taking FIX prophylaxis and previous experience with FIX therapy, as defined in the protocol
- Participation in the lead-in period of this interventional study OR a separate lead-in study (R0000-HEMB-2187 [NCT05568459]) for at least 6 months for ABR data while taking FIX prophylaxis, as defined in the protocol
Exclusion criteria
- History of FIX inhibitor (clinical or laboratory-based assessment) on 2 or more occasions
- Bethesda inhibitor titer greater than the upper limit of normal (ULN) at screening
- Detectable pre-existing antibodies to the adeno-associated virus serotype 8 (AAV8) capsid; as measured by enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) at prescreening (or final lead-in visit, if applicable).
- Any significant underlying liver disease such as: cholestatic liver disease, liver cirrhosis, portal hypertension, splenomegaly, hepatic encephalopathy
- Evidence of advanced liver fibrosis, as defined in the protocol
- Evidence of cirrhosis and/or portal hypertension as assessed by abdominal ultrasound at screening or measured within 6 months prior to the screening visit
- History of arterial or venous thrombo-embolic events, as defined in the protocol
- History of hypersensitivity to corticosteroids or known medical condition that requires chronic administration of corticosteroids
- Previously received any AAV gene-based therapy or intends to receive approved or investigational AAV-based gene therapy other than REGV131-LNP1265 during the study period
Eligibility
Age eligible for study : NA
Healthy volunteers accepted : No
Gender eligible for study: ALL
Things to know
Study dates
Study start:
Primary completion:
Study completion finish:
Study type
TREATMENT
Phase
- PHASE1PHASE2
Study ID
NCT06379789
Intervention or treatment
DRUG: REGV131
DRUG: LNP1265
Conditions
- Hemophilia B
You may be eligible to participate in this trial based on your search. Check eligibility by answering some questions.
Research sites nearby
Closest Location:
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Haemophilia Treatment Centre
Select from list below to view details:
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Haemophilia Treatment Centre
Camperdown, New South Wales, Australia
Loading map...
Who is running the clinical trial?
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
Study Plan
This section provides details of the study plan, including how the study is designed and what the study is measuring.
How is the study designed?
| Participant Group/Arm | Intervention/Treatment |
|---|---|
EXPERIMENTAL: Part 1: Cohort 1 Dose Escalation for RDE
| Drug: REGV131, Drug: LNP1265 |
EXPERIMENTAL: Part 1: Cohort 2 Dose Escalation for RDE
| Drug: REGV131, Drug: LNP1265 |
EXPERIMENTAL: Part 1: Cohort 3 Dose Escalation for RDE
| Drug: REGV131, Drug: LNP1265 |
EXPERIMENTAL: Part 1: Cohort 4 Dose Escalation for RDE
| Drug: REGV131, Drug: LNP1265 |
EXPERIMENTAL: Part 2: Dose Expansion A
| Drug: REGV131, Drug: LNP1265 |
EXPERIMENTAL: Part 2: Dose Expansion B
| Drug: REGV131, Drug: LNP1265 |
EXPERIMENTAL: Part 2: Dose Expansion C
| Drug: REGV131, Drug: LNP1265 |
What is the study measuring?
Primary Outcome
| Measure | Description | Time Frame |
|---|---|---|
| Incidence of treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) | Part 1, Part 2B and Part 2C | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Severity of TEAEs | Part 1, Part 2B and Part 2C | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Coagulation Factor IX (FIX) functional activity measured using the chromogenic substrate assay | Part 1 | At day 29 |
| Change in FIX functional activity in plasma, measured using the chromogenic substrate assay | Part 2A, Part 2B and Part 2C | Baseline and at Week 26, after REGV131-LNP1265 dosing at the recommended dose for expansion (RDE) |
| Annualized bleeding rate (ABR) following sustained FIX functional activity among participants receiving the RDE | Part 2A, Part 2B and Part 2C | Over 52 Weeks; Weeks 26 to 78 post-REGV131-LNP1265 dosing |
Secondary Outcome
| Measure | Description | Time Frame |
|---|---|---|
| Change in FIX functional activity in plasma measured using the chromogenic substrate assay | Part 1 | Baseline and at Week 26, after REGV131-LNP1265 dosing at the RDE |
| ABR following sustained FIX functional activity among participants receiving the RDE | Part 1 | Over 52 Weeks; Weeks 26 to 78 post-REGV131-LNP1265 dosing |
| FIX functional activity in plasma over time during the study period using the chromogenic substrate assay | Not Specified | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Annualized treated bleeding rate (tABR) following sustained FIX functional activity, among participants receiving the RDE | Not Specified | Over 52 Weeks; Weeks 26 to 78 post-REGV131-LNP1265 dosing |
| Annualized utilization (IU/kg/year) of FIX replacement therapy following sustained FIX functional activity among participants receiving the RDE | Not Specified | Over 52 Weeks; Weeks 26 to 78 post-REGV131-LNP1265 dosing |
| Remaining free of FIX replacement therapy among those receiving the RDE following sustained FIX expression | Not Specified | Over 52 Weeks; Weeks 26 to 78 post-REGV131-LNP1265 dosing |
| Remaining zero spontaneous bleeding events among those receiving the RDE over sustained FIX functional activity period | Not Specified | Over 52 Weeks; Weeks 26 to 78 post-REGV131-LNP1265 dosing |
| Concentrations of REGV131 components | Not Specified | Up to 29 Days |
| Concentrations of LNP1265 components | Not Specified | Up to 29 Days |
| Detection of antibodies to the F9 transgene product FIX protein | Not Specified | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of total binding antibodies (TAbs) to the adeno-associated virus 8 (AAV8) capsid proteins | Not Specified | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of neutralizing antibodies/transduction inhibitors (NAb/TI) to the adeno-associated virus 8 (AAV8) capsid proteins | Not Specified | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of antibodies to LNP1265 | Not Specified | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of antibodies to CRISPR-associated protein 9 (Cas9) protein | Not Specified | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of vector DNA in blood | Part 1 | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of vector DNA in saliva | Part 1 | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of vector DNA in nasal secretions | Part 1 | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of vector DNA in semen | Part 1 | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of vector DNA in urine | Part 1 | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of vector DNA in feces | Part 1 | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Incidence of TEAEs | Part 2A | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Severity of TEAEs | Part 2A | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of vector DNA in relevant matrices based on data analysis of Part 1 Dose Confirmation Cohort | Part 2A | Up to 104 Weeks |
| Detection of vector DNA in relevant matrices over time based on data analysis from adult cohorts over time | Part 2B and Part 2C | Up to 104 Weeks |
References
Clinical Trials Gov: A Study to Investigate the Safety and Effectiveness of a Coagulation Factor IX Gene Insertion Therapy (REGV131-LNP1265) in Pediatric, Adolescent and Adult Participants With Hemophilia BOther trials to consider
Loading suggested trials...