Safety and Efficacy Study of PF-06835375 in Primary Immune Thrombocytopenia

PHASE2TERMINATED

This is a Phase 2, open-label, multicenter, multiple subcutaneous injection, safety and efficacy study of PF-06835375 in adult participants with primary immune thrombocytopenia (ITP). This study will focus on participants with persistent (\>3 months and ≤12 months), or chronic (\>12 months) ITP.

Study details:

This study is designed to elucidate the effects of PF-06835375 on platelet counts in participants with moderate to severe primary ITP. Based on the experience with other B-cells depleting agents, it is expected that the platelet counts will increase following a standard treatment. Each participant in cohort 1 will receive 1 subcutaneous injection of dose 1 every month for 3 months during the 12-week treatment period.

And each participant in cohorts 2 and 3 will receive 1 subcutaneous injection of dose 2 or 3 every month for 4 months during the 16-week treatment period. This should provide sufficient levels of exposure and depletion of CXCR5 positive cells to sustain the effects of PF-06835375 during the treatment period. Additional depletion of Tfh cells may provide sustained increase in platelet count following the last treatment.

Eligibility criteria

Researchers look for people who fit a certain description, called eligibility criteria. See if you qualify.

Inclusion criteria

  1. Diagnosis of Primary ITP.
  2. Ongoing ITP (platelet counts <50 x 109/L) [No severe bleeding within 1 month or during screening] AND Persistent ITP (3 to 12 months) or Chronic ITP >12 months

Exclusion criteria

  1. Bleeding event according to the WHO grading scale ≥2 occurring ≤4 weeks prior to screen OR a current bleeding event that, in the opinion of the investigator, requires treatment with standard of care therapy OR require blood or blood products during screening
  2. Splenectomy within 3 months of randomization or planned during the study duration.

Eligibility

Age eligible for study : NA

Healthy volunteers accepted : No

Gender eligible for study: ALL

Things to know

Study dates

Study start:

Primary completion:

Study completion finish:

study type

Study type

TREATMENT

phase

Phase

    PHASE2

trial

Study ID

NCT05070845

Intervention or treatment

BIOLOGICAL: PF-06835375

Conditions

  • Primary Immune Thrombocytopenia
  • Condition: Primary Immune Thrombocytopenia

  • BIOLOGICAL: PF-06835375

  • Kogarah, New South Wales, Australia and more

  • Sponsor: Pfizer

You may be eligible to participate in this trial based on your search. Check eligibility by answering some questions.

Are you running this trial?

If you're a clinic or sponsor, you can claim this study

Research sites nearby

Closest Location:

Clinical Research Unit Haematology, Division of Cancer Services, St. George Hospital

Select from list below to view details:

  • Clinical Research Unit Haematology, Division of Cancer Services, St. George Hospital

    Kogarah, New South Wales, Australia

  • Liverpool Hospital

    Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia

  • South West Radiology

    Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia

  • Slade Pharmacy

    Mount Kuring-Gai, New South Wales, Australia

Loading map...

Who is running the clinical trial?

P

Pfizer

Study Plan

This section provides details of the study plan, including how the study is designed and what the study is measuring.

How is the study designed?

Participant Group/ArmIntervention/Treatment
EXPERIMENTAL: Open Label PF-06835375 dose 1 Treatment
  • subcutaneous injection once monthly for 3 months
Biological: PF-06835375
    EXPERIMENTAL: Open Label PF-06835375 dose 2 Treatment
    • subcutaneous injection once monthly for 4 months
    Biological: PF-06835375
      EXPERIMENTAL: Open Label PF-06835375 dose 3 Treatment
      • subcutaneous injection once monthly for 4 months
      Biological: PF-06835375
        EXPERIMENTAL: Open Label PF-06835375 dose 4 Treatment
        • subcutaneous injections once monthly for 4 months
        Biological: PF-06835375

          What is the study measuring?

          Primary Outcome

          MeasureDescriptionTime Frame
          Proportion of participants with change from baseline of platelet countsTo evaluate absolute value of platelet count of treated participantsbaseline through 12 and 16 weeks

          Secondary Outcome

          MeasureDescriptionTime Frame
          proportion of participants with modified overall response (mOR)To evaluate the modified overall response of platelet count of treated participantsbaseline through 12 and 16 weeks
          proportion of participants with complete response (CR)To evaluate the complete response of platelet count of treated participantsbaseline through 12 and 16 weeks
          Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Treatment-Related Adverse Events (AEs)Not Specifiedbaseline through end of study (Week 20 for cohort 1 and Week 24 for cohorts 2 and 3)
          Proportion of participants with change from baseline of platelet countsNot Specifiedbaseline to Week 20 and Week 24
          Proportion of participants with change from baseline of circulating B cellsNot Specifiedbaseline to Week 20 and Week 24
          Proportion of participants with change from baseline of circulating cTfh cellsNot Specifiedbaseline to Week 20 and Week 24
          Are you running this trial?If you're a clinic or sponsor, you can claim this study.

          References

          Clinical Trials Gov: Safety and Efficacy Study of PF-06835375 in Primary Immune Thrombocytopenia

          Other trials to consider

          Loading suggested trials...

          Top searched conditions