DAY101 vs. Standard of Care Chemotherapy in Pediatric Participants With Low-Grade Glioma Requiring First-Line Systemic Therapy (LOGGIC/FIREFLY-2)

PHASE3ACTIVE_NOT_RECRUITING

This is a 2-arm, randomized, open-label, multicenter, global, Phase 3 trial to evaluate the efficacy, safety, and tolerability of tovorafenib monotherapy versus standard of care (SoC) chemotherapy in participants with pediatric low-grade glioma (LGG) harboring an activating rapidly accelerated fibrosarcoma (RAF) alteration requiring first-line systemic therapy.

Study details:

Approximately 400 treatment-naïve LGG participants will be randomized 1:1 to either tovorafenib (Arm 1) or an Investigator's choice of SoC chemotherapy (Arm 2). Arm 1 (tovorafenib): Treatment cycles will repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression. Participants will continue tovorafenib until any of the following occurs: disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, withdrawal of consent to treatment, or end of study.

Arm 2 (Investigator's Choice of SoC Chemotherapy): Participants will receive one of 4 SoC chemotherapy options selected by the treating Investigator: Children's Oncology Group - Vincristine/Carboplatin (COG-V/C) regimen, International Society for Paediatric Oncology - Low-Grade Glioma Vincristine/Carboplatin (SIOPe-LGG-V/C) regimen, vinblastine (VBL) regimen, or monthly carboplatin. The choice of SoC chemotherapy regimen will be selected prior to participant randomization. Treatment will continue until completion of therapy or until any of the following occurs: disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, withdrawal of consent to treatment, or end of study.

Participants who discontinue treatment due to disease progression will have (1) radiographic evidence of disease progression, as determined by the Investigator, or (2) clinical progression, as determined by the Investigator. Investigators are encouraged to discuss cases of clinical progression and early radiographic progression without clinical symptoms with the Sponsor Medical Monitor prior to treatment discontinuation or initiation of a different form of treatment for the malignancy. Participants may continue therapy beyond progressive disease (PD).

Eligibility criteria

Researchers look for people who fit a certain description, called eligibility criteria. See if you qualify.

Inclusion criteria

  1. Less than 25 years of age with LGG with known activating RAF alteration.
  2. Histopathologic diagnosis of glioma or glioneuronal tumor.
  3. At least one measurable lesion as defined by RANO criteria.
  4. Meet indication for first-line systemic therapy.

Exclusion criteria

  1. Participant has any of the following tumor-histological findings: 1. Schwannoma 2. Subependymal giant cell astrocytoma (Tuberous Sclerosis) 3. Diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma, even if histologically diagnosed as World Health Organization (WHO) Grade I-II
  2. Participant's tumor has additional pathogenic molecular alterations, including but not limited to a) isocitrate dehydrogenase (IDH) 1/2 mutation, b) Histone H3 mutation, and c) neurofibromatosis Type 1 (NF-1) loss of function alteration.
  3. Known or suspected diagnosis of NF-1/ neurofibromatosis Type 2 (NF-2).
  4. Prior or ongoing nonsurgical anticancer therapy for this indication (eg, chemotherapy, oral/IV targeted therapy) including radiation.

Eligibility

Age eligible for study : NA

Healthy volunteers accepted : No

Gender eligible for study: ALL

Things to know

Study dates

Study start:

Primary completion:

Study completion finish:

study type

Study type

TREATMENT

phase

Phase

    PHASE3

trial

Study ID

NCT05566795

Intervention or treatment

DRUG: Tovorafenib

DRUG: Chemotherapeutic Agent

Conditions

  • Low-grade Glioma
  • Rapidly Accelerated Fibrosarcoma (RAF) Altered Glioma
  • Pediatric Low-grade Glioma
  • Condition: Low-grade Glioma, Rapidly Accelerated Fibrosarcoma (RAF) Altered Glioma and more

  • DRUG: Tovorafenib and other drugs

  • South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia and more

  • Sponsor: Day One Biopharmaceuticals, Inc.

You may be eligible to participate in this trial based on your search. Check eligibility by answering some questions.

Are you running this trial?

If you're a clinic or sponsor, you can claim this study

Research sites nearby

Closest Location:

Children's Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service

Select from list below to view details:

  • Children's Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service

    South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Perth Children's Hospital

    Nedlands, Australia

  • Women's and Children's Health Network

    North Adelaide, Australia

  • The Royal Children's Hospital - Children's Cancer Centre

    Parkville, Australia

Loading map...

Who is running the clinical trial?

DOBI

Day One Biopharmaceuticals, Inc.

Study Plan

This section provides details of the study plan, including how the study is designed and what the study is measuring.

How is the study designed?

Participant Group/ArmIntervention/Treatment
EXPERIMENTAL: Tovorafenib
  • Not Specified
Drug: Tovorafenib
    ACTIVE_COMPARATOR: Investigator's choice of Standard of care therapy
    • Not Specified
    Drug: Chemotherapeutic Agent

      What is the study measuring?

      Primary Outcome

      MeasureDescriptionTime Frame
      Objective response rate (ORR) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyORR assessed per Response Assessment in Pediatric Neuro Oncology (RAPNO) criteria by Independent Review Committee (IRC), and defined as the proportion of participants with overall confirmed response of complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or minor response (MR).Up to 60 months

      Secondary Outcome

      MeasureDescriptionTime Frame
      Progression-free survival (PFS) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyPFS assessed per RAPNO criteria by IRC, and defined as time from randomization to PD or death from any cause, whichever comes first.Up to 60 months
      Event-free survival (EFS) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyEFS assessed per RAPNO criteria by IRC, defined as time from randomization to PD, death from any cause, or initiation of any new anticancer therapy, whichever comes first.Up to 60 months
      Overall survival (OS) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyOverall survival is defined as time from randomization up to death from any cause.Up to 60 months
      Number of participants with any treatment-emergent adverse events, and Serious adverse eventsType, frequency, and severity of adverse events of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapy will be assessed.Up to 60 months
      . Number of participants with clinically significant vital signs and laboratory abnormalities findingsType, frequency, and severity of vital signs and laboratory abnormalities of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapy will be assessed.Up to 60 months
      Change from baseline in Adaptive Behavior Composite Score (ABS) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyAdaptive behavior Composite Score will be evaluated using domain scores collected from the comprehensive Vineland III Adaptive Behavior Scale (VABS).Baseline, Year 1, 2 and 5
      Change from baseline in the Motor Skills Domain Score of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyThe motor skills (gross and fine) will be assessed using the Motor Skills Score domain of the VABS in pediatric participants.Baseline, Year 1, 2 and 5
      Change from baseline in the Daily Living Domain Score of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyThe daily living (personal, domestic and community) will be assessed using Daily Living Domain Score of VABS.Baseline, Year 1, 2 and 5
      Change from baseline in the Communication Domain Score of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyThe communication skills (receptive, expressive and written) will be assessed using Communication Domain Score of VABS.Baseline, Year 1, 2 and 5
      Change from baseline in the Socialization Domain Score of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyThe socialization skills (Interpersonal relationships, play and leisure time and coping skills) will be assessed using Socialization Domain Score of VABS.Baseline, Year 1, 2 and 5
      Change in age-adjusted visual acuity (VA) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapy in optic pathway glioma (OPG) participants aged < 3 yearsVisual acuity testing using current age-appropriate testing methodology will be performed for all participants at Screening. For participants with OPG or an underlying visual deficit related to the primary malignancy, visual acuity testing will be performed every time participants have a radiographic response assessment. Assessments will be performed in each eye separately at a recommended testing distance of 3 meters.Baseline and up to 5 years
      Change in best corrected visual acuity of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapy in OPG participants aged ≥ 3 yearsVisual acuity assessments to be performed by an ophthalmologist or another qualified site clinical personnel.Baseline and up to 5 years
      Visual progression-free survival (v-PFS) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyVisual progression-free survival is defined as the time from start of treatment to visual event for OPG participants aged ≥ 3 years.Up to 60 months
      ORR of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyORR, defined as the proportion of participants with overall confirmed response per Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology for High-Grade Glioma (RANO-HGG) criteria (CR or PR) and RANO-LGG criteria (CR, PR, or MR), as applicable.Up to 60 months
      Clinical benefit rate (CBR) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyCBR, defined as the proportion of participants with radiological tumor stabilization or regression per RANO-LGG (CR, PR, MR, or SD lasting 12 months or more), RANO-HGG (CR, PR, or SD lasting 12 months or more) or RAPNO criteria (CR, PR, MR or SD lasting 12 months or more), as applicable.Up to 60 months
      Time to response (TTR) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyTTR, measured by the time following randomization to first imaging of tumor response that was subsequently confirmed per RANO-HGG criteria (CR or PR), RANO-LGG criteria (CR, or PR, or MR), or RAPNO criteria (CR, PR, or MR), as applicable.Up to 60 months
      PFS of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyPFS per RANO-HGG or RANO-LGG criteria (as applicable), defined as time from randomization to PD or death from any cause, whichever occurs first.Up to 60 months
      EFS of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyEFS per RANO-HGG or RANO-LGG criteria (as applicable), defined as time from randomization to PD, death from any cause, or initiation of any new anticancer therapy, whichever comes first.Up to 60 months
      Duration of response (DOR) of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyDOR, defined as time from first imaging of tumor response per RANO-LGG, RANO-HGG or RAPNO criteria, as applicable, that was subsequently confirmed to radiographic PD or death from any cause, whichever comes first.Up to 60 months
      Change from Baseline in health-related quality of life (HRQoL) total score of tovorafenib monotherapy versus SoC chemotherapyThe Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS®) Pediatric/Parent Proxy Profile 49 v2.0 will be used to assess mental and social HRQoL.Baseline, Year 1, 2 and 5
      Are you running this trial?If you're a clinic or sponsor, you can claim this study.

      References

      Clinical Trials Gov: DAY101 vs. Standard of Care Chemotherapy in Pediatric Participants With Low-Grade Glioma Requiring First-Line Systemic Therapy (LOGGIC/FIREFLY-2)

      Other trials to consider

      Loading suggested trials...

      Top searched conditions